Las brujas de Zugarramurdi / Witches and Bitches (2013)

Director: witching-and-bitching-movie-poster-spanish-2013

Alex de la Iglesia

Writers:

Jorge Guerricaechevarria
Alex de la Iglesia

Cast:

Hugo SIlva – Jose
Mario Casas – Antonio
Pepon Nieto – Calvo
Carolina Bang – Eva
Terele Pavrz – Maritxu
Jaime Ordonez – Manuel

 

I had never heard about this movie until just the other day when I find out they had US distribution and the trailer was posted. I quickly passed the trailer around and it was quickly decided that I would have to watch it. This is one you have to get with subtitles, I have no clue what hey want to do with the audio for the states

First off the opening title credits are absolutely amazing. Its rare for me to really mention them lately because I feel like its an art form lost on most horror films. I loved the music, the images used (some of them are rather famous pieces of artwork) … it was just great and should be featured on art of the title. At least I think that’s the name.

The story is about a group of bank robbers, all of them dressed up in costumes in the beginning who end up getting into trouble with some witches. Now the costumes are awesome, we have Sponge Bob, Minni Mouse, a green army man and even a metal looking Jesus. The whole thing gets awkward quick because the guy dressed as Jesus has his son at the robbery. The whole situation is bizaar because people are talking about it and some of the hostages agree with them about what they are saying.

So we have a father and son, one of the guys from the heist, a cab driver and a guy who I think is just a business man. It’s a great group. The Army guy, Tony, speaks so freaking fast it’s hard to keep up with but his dialog is pretty freaking good. For that matter my favorite guy in the car (which last roughly the first half hour of the film) is the cab driver. He decides that after a while that he will be joining the robbers. I really liked the main characters, they are just dumb/funny enough to grow on you the longer they are on the screen.

The witches that you are introduced to are a rather wide ranging group. The first couple come from the old school thought of crazy looking old woman to Eva who is much younger. She even sports the hair style in which the one side of the head is shaved.. says how much of an old man I have become because I know there is a name for it but I really don’t care what it is.

Some scenes people have have an issue with, The first being that there is one point where you see a child about to get roasted alive. He doesn’t, if that makes you feel any better but lets just say that nothing has bothered him that much so far and he has seen some stuff in his time. This should be kind of an unsaid thing but if you aren’t into movies about witchcraft then this movie is not for you. There is also some torture, nothing crazy but a man gets his teeth ripped out

This is a very fast paced movie, it high on action but it manages to give exposition at a rapid fire pace. And you really have to pay attention, especially if you watched it subtitles like I did. I really hope that they don’t dub this one when it comes to the US because the Spanish actors do a great freaking job. Hugo Silva, Mario Casas, Jamie Ordonez and Carolina Bang were all fantastic. I really liked their characters and was happy they didn’t have some BS ending to ruin everything they did during the film.

Right now the import costs around $40 and I don’t really know if it is worth that amount. The nice thing is in the future IFC Midnight will be distributing the movie here and if the price is better then you should check it out. It would have gotten a better score but I really didn’t find the movie overly funny but I found it amusing enough. I liked it and have already recommended to people.

Grade B

Leave a Reply

