Killjoy 2: Deliverance from Evil (2002)

Director: killjoy2

Tammi Sutton

Writers:

Tammi Sutton

Douglas Snauffer

Cast:

Charles Austin – Nicolas ‘Nic’ Gordon

Wayland Geremy Boyd – Officer Mike Donnelly

Bobby Marsden – Office Chris White

Logan Alexander – Lt. Harris Redding

Debbie Rochon – Denise Martinez

Nicole Pulliam – Cecile ‘Ce-Ce’ Washington

Choice Skinner – Raymond ‘Ray-Ray’ Martin

Olimpia Fernandez – Charlotte Davis

 

I know I haven’t been very good about posting reviews lately but for the record I still put myself through hell sometimes in order to do this and this franchise is proof of that. The first movie is the first blaxploitation film I had ever seen, and not a genre that I was very quick to go back to. For the record, in case you never bothered checking the about section on the site, I’m about as white as you can get. So when I review these films I have to divorce it from any cultural context it may hav and take it on the merits of the actual film.
The film really doesn’t have a lot of things tying it to the first film, the man who plays Killjoy is even different. This time there is a group of people who are being brought out in the middle of nowhere, it has something to do with them serving part of their sentence for various crimes but I’m not entirely sure. After their car and some miscommunication a couple people are dead and two of the teens decided that they should summon Killjoy and then all hell breaks loose. I really had a hard time following the plot with this one. None of the writing seemed to be all that coherent or important.
The acting is about as good as the first film, which means it was awful. They changed the actor playing Killjoy from Angel Vargas who was extremely annoying to Trent Haaga who was just as bad. I don’t know what they were thinking when casting for these movies because I would have at least gone for someone who doesn’t piss me off every time they opened their mouths. Even Debbie Rochon who is a horror movie legend still seemed to have phoned it in for this movie. I really can’t think of a simple moment where the acting was even brought up to the level of decent.
The kills and effects in this movie are both very poor as well, sometimes I feel like a b movie can rise about the trash that it really is if the kills were decent. A great example of this is during the boom of the slasher movies like Friday the 13th and A Nightmare on Elm Street but this film scrapes the bottom of the barrel of ideas and blood gags.

Avoid this one… and the first one. The films I watch for this site…

Grade F

Leave a Reply

